top of page

The drama of distance

Often visitors of Art Establishments will be seen very close to artworks. Some pieces are highly detailed and of course they can be viewed in this fashion. My work in particular needs some distance to fully appreciate what the painting is about. Up close one will see what seems randomly placed brush strokes. I can assure you they are not random. I do design my pieces to start with and each painting is built from there. Colors are chosen ahead of actually applying the paint. The initial work is rather fun to me and a favorite part of the process. Large or small they all hold their attractions for me. Some scenes will dictate whether a large format is reguired however. Once I have a piece "all Blocked In", meaning all spaces and colors set a process of adjusting begins. Massing together may be required, a color that doesn't fit where it is placed, or a hard edged mark are all considered. This process means a lot of walking for me. Back to look and decide, and then forward to do the adjustment. This process will keep going until i feel satisfied the work is cohesive. The painting is then set aside for a few more days beside my main easel To "look at" and often will spot a few more things that require thought and further adjusting.

Maryanne Jespersen/ Artist


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page