top of page

Inspirations

It has occurred that often we seem to be stuck as artists and seek new inspirations. Now for me personally I don't seem to get stuck and inspirations are everywhere. Obsessive with painting constantly, I am driven.

Recently I was feeling a wee bit weary after spending most of the day at my easel. Upstairs I was called to try a short nap. So as I lay down I gazed out the window and the leaves now gone from the trees and a larch was exposed with an amazing mass of branches twisting around almost like a spiders web. That would make a nice painting I thought. I could not close my eyes. Finally I could not stand it any longer so I was up and retrieved my camera., Surely the tree was going nowhere but I thought perhaps the light would change and another day it would no longer speak to me. My weariness had past by now so continued with a painting I had previously been working on. Two days past and I ran across the picture as I scrolled looking for something for my next work. (I seem to have a very short memory these days.!)

As I worked on it I was further excited by all the negative spaces being incorporated and invited a neighbor who has started painting to visit my studio so I could explain the process. I always get excited when people want to learn. My works are mostly intuitive so I did end up with something different than my photo but the tree shapes I was attracted to are evident. I had also chosen a format that was only part of the scene so a lot of aspects need to be adjusted.

A adore this format as it creates a challenge that I find satisfying.

Before I sleep

48"x12" oil on deep wood

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page